MainНовостиExpectation and Reality: Myths of MICE manager’s Profession

Expectation and Reality: Myths of MICE manager’s Profession

MICE-industry is one of the youngest, but rapidly growing spheres. More and more people get in common with this industry …

…and, at the same time, as the snowball, false information about those who work at MICE is growing and spreading. Some people are sure that the life of a MICE professional is full of endless parties, fascinating journeys and eternal fun. There are also those who argue that the game is not worth the candle and this work brings more stress than pleasure. Where is the truth, and where is the myth? Let’s go into the specifics of this job with BTL Group.

There are universities that prepare professional MICE personnel

In Ukraine – no. In Europe and the USA – yes. In any case, this is one of the few professions where the certificate of degree does not play a crucial role: your organizational skills, communication skills, charisma, creative thinking, multitasking, and sometimes stress tolerance are much more important. Practice in the MICE field is of the essence.

Inseparable fun or weekdays of MICE manager

People often think that the daily life of a MICE manager is colorful and cloudless. In fact, each project is very demanding and requires thorough preparation. The moment of choosing a location for a business event, communication with the client and contractors, development of a program, estimates… It is important to take into account all the wishes of the customer and at the same time meet the budget and deadlines. The life of the organizer of events and business trips is undeniably colorful, but it takes a lot of energy.

In time, work may become monotonous

Let’s imagine that you’ve learned to prepare detailed costings, found reliable contractors, and finally got practice. Can work become monotonous to some extent? Not at all 😊 You must always be ready for professional development and self-improvement. Projects are different, so you need to be competent and be able to quickly and clearly answer the question posed by the client.

It is crucial to know the specificity of IT, electro-driven tools, audio and video equipment, and even fishing 😉 After all, customer requests can be completely different.

MICE-manager has the opportunity to travel a lot

As part of The Point’s special project and Shamrock educational program “I Want to Become,” Anna Petrova, the founder and ideological inspirer of the BTL group of companies, shared her thoughts on work in the MICE field. You will be interested to learn firsthand about such myths of work in the field of business tourism.

“Many people want to work in tourism because they love traveling, but in this case, it will be relevant to recall the idiom ‘a shoemaker is always ill-shod’. You work a lot and travel not so frequently. In our business, project managers mostly travel as an accompaniment or visit to tourist exhibitions, but this is not about “strolling” and doing nothing, it is about a very hard work. After all, when the manager goes as an accompaniment – they work 24/7.”

It does not make sense to come in MICE from other fields

“We practice internships in our company. Usually in the summer, when there is an opportunity to test yourself, to understand whether it is yours or not. About 5-6 employees got into our company in this way. They interned, became assistants, and after that – full-fledged employees. Some of them have already grown to senior positions. The best university is practice. Especially in our ‘active’ business that really is alive. Every time there may be new tasks. Non-standard tasks.”

You may also like: 5 useful YouTube channels for MICE managers

Views: 1,851

ГлавнаяНовостиОжидание и реальность: мифы профессии MICE-менеджера

Ожидание и реальность: мифы профессии MICE-менеджера

MICE-индустрия – одна из наиболее молодых, но быстро развивающихся сфер. О ней узнает все больше людей…

…и, вместе с тем, как снежный ком, растет и распространяется не совсем правдивая информация о тех, кто работает в MICE. Некоторые уверены, что будни профессионала данной сферы состоят из бесконечных вечеринок, увлекательных путешествий и вечного веселья. Есть же и те, кто утверждает, что игра не стоит свеч и работа приносит больше стресса, чем удовольствия. Где правда, а где миф? Разбираемся с  компанией BTL Group.

Существуют ВУЗы, готовящие профессиональные MICE-кадры

В Украине – нет. В Европе и США – да. В любом случае, это одна из немногих профессий, где «корочка» не играет большой роли: гораздо важнее ваши организаторские способности, коммуникабельность, харизма, креативное мышление, многозадачность и, порой, стрессоустойчивость. Практика в MICE-сфере гораздо важнее, чем теория.

Безудержное веселье или будни MICE-менеджера

Зачастую люди думают, что будни MICE -менеджера красочные и безоблачные. На самом же деле, каждый проект требует большой отдачи и подготовки. Выбор локации, общение с клиентом и подрядчиками, составление программы, подсчет смет – важно учесть все пожелания заказчика и при этом уложиться в бюджет и сроки. Жизнь организатора мероприятий и бизнес-поездок, бесспорно, яркая, но отнимает много сил.

Со временем работа может стать однообразной

Быстро подсчитывать сметы научились, практику получили, надежных подрядчиков нашли. Работа может стать в какой-то степени однообразной? Совсем нет 😊 Нужно быть всегда готовым к профессиональному развитию и самосовершенствованию. Проекты бывают разные, нужно владеть информацией и уметь быстро и четко ответить на поставленный клиентом вопрос.

Знания в совершенно разных областях просто необходимы: IT, электроинструменты, аудио- и видеотехника и даже рыбалка😉 Ведь запросы клиентов бывают совершенно разные.

MICE-менеджер имеет возможность много путешествовать

В рамках спецпроекта The Point и образовательной программы Shamrock «Хочу стать», Анна Петрова, основатель и идейный вдохновитель группы компаний BTL, поделилась своими мыслями касательно работы в сфере MICE. Вам будет интересно узнать из первых уст о таких мифах работы в сфере делового туризма.

«Многие хотят работать в туризме из-за любви к путешествиям, но здесь актуально будет вспомнить фразеологизм «сапожник без сапог». Вы очень много работаете, а путешествуете не так часто. В нашем бизнесе менеджеры проектов в основном ездят как сопровождение, на туристические выставки, но это не о «погулять», а об очень тяжелой работе. Ведь когда менеджер едет как сопровождение — это работа 24/7».

Приходить в MICE из других сфер не имеет смысла

«В компании мы практикуем стажировки. Обычно в летний период, когда есть возможность почувствовать, испытать себя, понять, это ваше или нет. Около 5-6 сотрудников попали в нашу компанию именно таким образом. Стажировались у нас, стали помощниками, а после этого — полноценными сотрудниками. Некоторые из них уже выросли до руководящих должностей. Лучший университет — это практика. Особенно в нашем бизнесе, который действительно является живым. Каждый раз могут быть новые задачи. Нестандартные».

Вам может понравиться: 5 полезных YouTube каналов для MICE-менеджеров

Просмотров: 1 848